Sugar Skulls running back Mike Jones and linebacker Zach Allen were named to the All Indoor Football League first team today as the league began announcing its 2019 season honorees. Defensive back Dee Maggitt Jr. was named to the second team.

For Allen, it is the second straight year he was named the league’s top linebacker. He earned the honor in 2018 as a member of the Iowa Barnstormers. Allen led the Sugar Skulls with 88 total tackles including 10 tackles for loss. He also intercepted a pass. This was Allen’s third year in the league.

Jones, playing in his rookie season, led all IFL running backs with 711 yards rushing despite missing two of the Sugar Skulls 14 games. His average of 59.3 yards per game led the league. He had 21 rushing touchdowns and another 293 yards receiving and four TD catches.

Maggitt Jr. led the Sugar Skulls with four interceptions and he was third on the team with 41 tackles. He also had the team’s only kickoff return for a touchdown. He was named IFL Player of the Week twice, once on defense and once for special teams. Maggitt Jr. was a second-team All-IFL selection in 2016.

“Zach, Mike and Dee worked hard all year and the honors are well-deserved,” said Head Coach Marcus Coleman. “We had a young team this year and these three players were a huge part of the success we had and getting to the playoffs in our first year.”

The Sugar Skulls ended the season with a 7-8 record, including a playoff loss to the Sioux Falls Storm, in the team’s first season as a franchise. Tucson finished in a tie for fifth place in the regular season.

The complete All IFL Team is below.

2019 All-IFL Teams

1st Team All-IFL Offense

2nd Team All-IFL Offense


Daquan Neal, Iowa Barnstormers

E.J. Hilliard, Quad City Steamwheelers


Running Back:

Mike Jones, Tucson Sugar Skulls

Davonte Sapp-Lynch, Nebraska Danger


Wide Receiver:

Ryan Balentine, Iowa Barnstormers

Brandon Sheperd, Sioux Falls Storm


Wide Receiver:

Quinton Pedroza, Quad City Steamwheelers

Jarrod Harrington, Arizona Rattlers


Wide Receiver:

Keyvan Rudd, Quad City Steamwheelers

Marques Rodgers, San Diego Strike Force


Offensive Line:

Lamar Mady, Arizona Rattlers

Demarious Loving, Iowa Barnstormers



Steven Gurrola, Arizona Rattlers

Oliver Lumpkin, Iowa Barnstormers


Offensive Line:

Forrestal Hickman, Sioux Falls Storm

Vincent Calhoun, Green Bay Blizzard


1st Team All-IFL Defense

2nd Team All-IFL Defense

Defensive Line:

Chris Martin, Nebraska Danger

Claude Davis, Sioux Falls Storm


Defensive Line:

Nikolaus D'Avanzo, Arizona Rattlers

Lance McDowdell, Arizona Rattlers


Defensive Line:

Silverberry Mouhon, Green Bay Blizzard

D'Vonn Brown, Nebraska Danger



Zach Allen, Tucson Sugar Skulls

Treyvon Williams, Iowa Barnstormers


Defensive Back:

Davontae Merriweather, Arizona Rattlers

Brandon Roe, Nebraska Danger


Defensive Back:

Tyrell Pearson, Iowa Barnstormers

Dillion Winfrey, Arizona Rattlers


Defensive Back:

Allen Chapman, Arizona Rattlers

Dee Maggitt Jr., Tucson Sugar Skulls


Defensive Back:

Bakari Triggs, Green Bay Blizzard

Danzel McDaniel, Quad City Steamwheelers


1st Team All-IFL Special Teams

2nd Team All-IFL Special Teams


Jimmy Camacho, Arizona Rattlers

Ernesto Lacayo, San Diego Strike Force


Kick Returner

Marques Rodgers, San Diego Strike Force

William Gibbs, Bismarck Bucks